United Nations Environment Programme
Environment for development

Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean


6 priorities areas


The United Nations Program for Environment has the task to provide leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations

The regional office for Latin America and the Caribbean (ROLAC) located in Panama City works closely with the 33 countries of the region - including 16 small island developing States, with a population of about 588 million people. The office works to serve the needs of the region and its activities are integrated into the work programs approved by the Governing Council of UNEP.

Latin America and the Caribbean is a region rich in diversity of environments, ecosystems, species and cultures and includes seven of diverse countries. The region is divided into four regions: Mesoamerica, the Caribbean, the Andean Region and Southern Cone and each has a unique set of characteristics, priorities and environmental challenges.

UNEP/ROLAC work countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vicent and the Grenadinas, Saint Lucia, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.


See more information




Copyright © United Nations Environment Programme   Contact UNEP's Intranet   Follow UNEP in